Here’s How HBCU Students in Georgia Can Apply to Win a $2,500 Scholarship

Rearview shot of a group of students standing in a line on graduation day
PeopleImages/Getty Images

Georgia may be known for its peaches and Southern hospitality, but it also has one of the highest numbers of historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs).

Atlanta-based Delta Community Credit Union, in partnership with Atlanta radio station KISS 104.1 FM, sponsors a quarterly scholarship giving students attending one of the state’s 10 HBCUs a chance to win $2,500 toward their education expenses.

Not only can students apply for the scholarship themselves, but others can nominate deserving undergrads or incoming freshmen.

The deadline for this quarter’s crop of applicants is quickly approaching, so you’ll want to apply soon.

However, if you miss out on this opportunity, the good news is the sponsors will award three more scholarships throughout the year.

Apply for Delta Community Credit Union HBCU Scholarships

Scholarship Amount: $2,500

Number of Scholarships Awarded: 1 each quarter

To qualify for the scholarship, applicants must:

  • Be a Georgia resident who is at least 17 years old
  • Be enrolled at or accepted at any of the following schools: Albany State University, Clark Atlanta University, Fort Valley State University, Interdenominational Theological Center, Morehouse College, Morehouse School of Medicine, Morris Brown College, Paine College, Savannah State University, Spelman College.
  • Write an 100-word essay on why you (or the person you’re nominating for the scholarship) deserve or need the money

Scholarship Deadline: February 15, 2018

The scholarship winner will be announced about a week after the deadline. Delta Community Credit Union will first contact the winner, and then KISS 104.1 will announce the student’s name on air.

See here for more information and to apply for the Delta Community Credit Union HBCU Scholarship.

Nicole Dow is a staff writer at The Penny Hoarder. She is the proud alumna of an HBCU — Hampton University.